About This Journal


The Journal of Critical Thought & Praxis is a peer-reviewed on-line journal that provides a space for emerging scholars, educators, and activists to engage in critical and progressive inter/transdisciplinary scholarship and dialogue that supports awareness of social justice issues and challenges individuals to move towards advocacy and concrete engagement with social justice movements. JCTP is also committed to providing all authors with developmental feedback that helps clarify, sharpen, and communicate ideas and arguments in a manner accessible to a broad social justice community.

History of the Journal

Although now an interdisciplinary journal, the idea for what is now the Journal of Critical Thought at Praxis (JCTP) originated at the 2011 Social Justice retreat for students participating in the Graduate concentration/certificate in Social Justice in Higher Education in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Iowa State University. Students wanted an outlet to disseminate and promote scholarship that centered critical and progressive scholarship, practice, and activism. After the retreat, a group of students called a meeting to begin conceptualizing how to make this idea a reality.

Beginning in the fall of 2011, members of the founding editorial board held weekly meetings to brainstorm the creation of a journal. With guidance from Nana Osei-Kofi, who at the time was the coordinator for the Social Justice concentration/certificate, members developed a mission and vision for the journal, and built the infrastructure to develop a student-led journal. Support for JCTP, was also provided by Shannon Calderon who helped create the InterActions journal at UCLA and provided valuable insight and provided extensive support in the initial stages of the journal’s development.

JCTP launched its first issue in October of 2012, highlighting the status of social justice and features the work of diverse scholars, practioners, and activists.


Cameron Beatty (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Kathleen Gillon (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Susana Hernandez (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Aja Holmes (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Joyce Lui (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Jessica Soulis (Sustainable Agriculture)

Lisette Torres-Gerald (Higher Ed.- Social Justice)

Past Members of the Editorial Board

Lorraine Acker

Glennda Bivens

Rachael Blansett

Carrie Chennault

Hannah Dankbar

Michael DuPont

Maaz Gardezi

Garrett Gowen

Tyanez Jones

Ahna Kruzic

Andres Lopez

Alade McKen

Tami Moen

Juliana Nnoko-Mewanu

Shaohua Pei

Gabrielle Roesch-McNally

Criss Salinas

Danica Schieber

Jack Seitz

Lissa Stapleton

Alissa Stoehr

Maria Van Der Maaten

Greg Wickenkamp

History of Faculty Advisers

Dr. Isaac Gottesman

Dr. Nana Osei-Kofi