The Department of Air Force Aerospace Studies seeks to provide students with the opportunity to earn commission as professional officers of the United States Air Force. Its program consists of two phases: the General Military Course (GMC) followed by the Professional Officer Course (POC).


The Department of Air Science was formed in 1957 as a result of the division of the Department of Military, Naval, and Air Science. In 1965 it became the Department of Air Force Aerospace Studies.

Dates of Existence

Historical Names

  • Department of Air Science (1957-1965)

Related Units


Browse the Air Force Aerospace Studies Collections:

Air Force Aerospace Studies publications and other works