Ames Forester

Article Title

Indonesian Forestry


Indonesia consists of an island chain 3,000 miles long spanning the ocean from Malaya in Southeastern Asia to Australia. The archipelago is surrounded by the Pacific and Indian Oceans and the South China Sea. The land area of Indonesia is roughly equivalent to the land area of the United States East of the Mississippi River. The major islands include Java, Kalimantan, (Indonesian part of Borneo), Sulawesi (Celebes), Sumatra, and a number of the islands in the Lesser Sunda group including Bali, Lombok, Sumbawa, Sumba, Flores, and Timor. The latter group of Islands are the renowned “Spice Islands”. More recently, West Irian (New Guinea) was transferred to the jurisdiction of Indonesia, and now is included in the some 3,000 islands making up the archipelago.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.