Iowa State University Veterinarian


Iowa State University Veterinarian Records, RS 22/6/0/9, University Archives, Special Collections Department, Iowa State University, http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/arch/rgrp/22-6-0-9.html

Call Number

SF601 V65

Document Type



This spring at the annual awards meeting, SCAVMA presented the first annual SCAVMA Teaching Awards. Two awards were presented, one for basic sciences and one for clinical sciences. Nominees were taken from the student body and a committee from SCAVMA Executive Council narrowed the nominees down to five for each award. This year the Basic Science Award Nominees were: Dr. Donald Adams (Veterinary Anatomy), Gary Althouse (Physiology/Pharmacology), Dr. John Greve (Veterinary Pathology), Dr. Jim Roth (Veterinary Microbiology and Preventitive Medicine), and Dr. Thomas Sanderson (Diagnostic Laboratory). The Clinical Science Award Nominees were: Val Hinz, Dr. Albert Jergens, Dr. Karl Kersting, Dr. Dean Riedesel, and Dr. James Noxon. The students voted on the five nominees with juniors and seniors voting for the Clinical Science Award and all students voting for the Basic Sciences Award.