Soybean Genetics Newsletter


Several years ago, we identified seven plant introductions resistant to the 16 races of Phytophthora megasperma f. sp. glycinea Kuan and Erwin (Pmg) known at that time. Each of these was crossed to the eight cultivars in Table 1 to determine how resistance was controlled. They were not crossed to cultivars that contained Rps2 or Rps5 because Rps2 was found using root inoculation in a liquid culture solution, and Rps5 was described after this study was started.