Soybean Genetics Newsletter


Phytophthora root rot, caused by Phytophthora megasperma f. sp. glycinea Kuan and Erwin, (Pmg) is one of the most serious diseases of soybeans when conditions are favorable (Kuan and Irwin, 1980). Resistance in soybeans to phytophthora root rot has been reported to be controlled by nine dominant genes (Layton et al., 1984). The cultivars 'Bombay' and 'OAC 211' also have been identified to carry one and two genes for Pmg resistance, respectively, although these genes have not been named (Moots et al., 1983). Twenty-four races of the pathogen have been identified (Keeling, 1984).